Donate | Print Page | Contact Us | Report Abuse | Sign In | Join
Harriet H. Werley New Investigator Award
Share |

Harriet H. Werley New Investigator Award

Nominations Available:  August 1, 2017
Deadline for Submission:  October 20, 2017

The purpose of the Harriet H. Werley New Investigator Award is to recognize the contribution of a new investigator who has conducted nursing research that has the potential to enhance the science and practice of nursing.

Eligibility Requirements:
Nominees must be members of MNRS in good standing and be nominated according to the established procedure. Nominees must agree to attend the Annual Conference and the Awards Ceremony. Nominees hold an earned doctorate and have completed his or her doctorate within the past 7 years. The research should have been started within 5 years of completing the last formal research training and may not consist solely of dissertation research.

Nominations will be evaluated of the following criteria:

  • Quality and rigor of major research projects
  • Research-related publication and presentation record
  • Significance of research to the profession
  • Potential as a career nursing scientist
  • Actual and potential influence of research on nursing and healthcare practice or systems

Nomination Application Information should include:

  • NIH Biosketch (limited to 4 pages only)
  • 100 word narrative summary statement about the applicant's accomplishments and/or contributions
  • Two (2) letters of support that detail the nominee's significant contribution
  • Two (2) published research articles

Click Here to Complete the Online Nomination/Application Form

The MNRS Awards Committee reviews the nominations according to the criteria and makes recommendations to the Board for final approval. The Selection Sub-Committee for each award is comprised of a chair, who may be a board member, and three past award recipients who are MNRS members-in-good standing.